duck-shaped pain

2000-06-29
Where I Go About My Day

I did some of the things I planned to do today. I went to the library, yet I still managed to run into Li-Berry Woman. No conflict between us, which is good. I picked up a CD of Louisiana dance music because a) I wanted to and b) Cajun music is very high on the List of Music That Annoys People Very Much. I tried to play some at work, once. I got a worse reaction to that than anything else I've ever tried to play for people.

It's not really worth it to buy magazines, I keep dicovering. At the magazine exchange today I found the last three months of the New Yorker, there for the taking. Each issue I know I thought about buying at least once. I also found in the same pile (actually, they were all in the same plastic bag) recent issues of both The Nation and The National Review, all with the same address on the subscription label. Either they belonged to someone who wanted to cover all the bases or came from a household who just learned to agree to disagree long ago.

Then, I went to the bookstore downtown to buy some newspapers. We have one small local bookstore, that's been here in one guise or the other since I can remember. I didn't like the people who used to run it, so I wasn't too sad to see them go when we got a Barnes and Noble here. Luckily, some other people, who are much nicer and have better taste in books, opened a new store in the same location. I haven't been in there for about a month, so the guy who runs it was surprised to see me with my cane. I bought copies of the New York Times and the Rocky Mountain News, because I realized that I hadn't read either in about three weeks.

I then went down to the bagel shop to get some tea, and the banjo guy was there. There's a guy who comes downtown every once in awhile and sits on the corner and plays his banjo. He's pretty good, but often, as soon as he starts playing, people sitting out front of the bagel shop begin leaving. Nothing clears out a room faster than a banjo, I guess. Today, I found out that his name is Dan. Dan the Banjo Guy.

After that, I was hungry, and I actually had a very specific kind of hunger. A taco hunger. Specifically, a taco from Tacos Alondras, a Mexican lunch wagon that is around sometimes. They make fantastic food -- tacos de carnitas, tacos de lengua, etc. -- all served with soft, warn corn tortillas and the hottest sauce I've ever tried. The only problem is that since Tacos Alondras has no set location and no discernably regular schedule, it's hard to find them. You can't just will one of their tacos into existence -- you have to wait until it comes to you. For awhile, they parked their truck in front of the scuba shop near the high school. Then they moved to the bodega off the main street. Now, no one has any idea where they are. Sighting of Tacos Alondras are rare these days.

So, I had Taco Bell. Not the same.

I then headed over to the mall to look for something at Target. I sort of hate malls, and I especially hate our mall. One of the nicer things about breaking your leg is that you have a really, really unshakeable reason not to go to the mall. But since Target is there, I have to brave going there every once in while.

My big purchase on this trip was a Homer Simpson Pez dispenser. My friend Zach collects Pez items, and he told me about the Homer one. So, when I saw it, I bought it. My big impulse item of the month.

Then, it was too damn hot to go anywhere else.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.