duck-shaped pain

2000-06-30
Where I Eat Things That Taste Like Wax

God, I had a horrible night. I tried going to bed around 11, and set my alarm for 7 am so that I could get up and go to yard sales with my mom, who was supposed to come to town today so that she could buy a new desk at Sam's Club. Anyway, I couldn't get to sleep AT ALL. I just kind of laid there for a few hours, and finally, I realized that I was terribly hungry.

Which should be expected, given how dinner went yesterday. I had no idea what to make. It should have been easy, since I had still had some of the veggies I bought on Wednesday. But, for some reason, I just couldn't make up my mind. I really wanted to go out, but I wouldn't or could't let myself, for all sort of reasons.....I didn't have very much money, I'd feel better if I made something myself, I don't know where I want to go. Then, I decided I wanted some bread for dinner, and then I kept telling myself, hey, that's *not* a meal.

Finally, I decided to make some quesadillas, using some leftover black beans and cheese, and also cook some peas. So I did and when I tried to eat them, they both tasted awful. I could not eat another bite of any of them, which ended up making the dog happy. After that, I figured I'd try some salad. It, too, tasted HORRIBLE. It made me almost nauseous to even think about eating it. I was completely puzzled as to why this should be so. Finally, I just gave in and had a few pieces of bread. Note to self: when you want something, just shut up and go have it.

Anyway, I woke up and had some late-night food (cereal), and watched the last tape in Cadillac Desert. Tried to go to sleep again, and couldn't. Kept thinking thoughts about the Colorado River. I kept imagining myself winning some trivia contest because I knew the original name of the Colorado was the Grand, which everyone around here knows. It was 3 in the morning, and that's the only explanation I can give.

Woke up early to go out, and there's a message telling my my mom will be late and she'll meet me for lunch. So I drink coffee and peruse the paper for sale ads. There were two really baffling yard sale ads today, one for a "FENG SHIU" (sic) sale and other which read, "Wife wants to divorce me, selling stuff before she can." Why would you put that in your ad?

Anyway, shouldn't have even bothere getting up or going out. I did not buy anything, and didn't even find anything worth thinking about buying.

So it came time to meet my mom. She told me to meet her at my aunt and uncle's appliance store at 11. So I show up, and she's not there. 12 comes. She's not there. I get to talk to my aunt and uncle for awhile, but, by 1, I gave up and came home. Still haven't heard from her.

Now, all I want to do is shower. What a useless day.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.