duck-shaped pain

2000-07-03
Where All I Wanted Was A Pepsi

I guess my leg seems to finally be getting better. I went out to lunch today and absentmindedly left my cane in the car. The odd thing is that it wasn't until after lunch, when I came back to the car and saw it there, that I realized I had forgotten it. I had actually walked around on my own for awhile. Now, of course, my leg is awfully sore.

Uneventful day today. For a lot of people, today was a holiday of sorts, but for the unemployed like me, every day is a holiday. Lots of fireworks set off today. There must be a forest fire or soemthing near here (I heard there was one, but I'm not exactly sure where it is), because the entire valley was covered with a grey, smoky haze today, and everything smelled like it was burning. Ashes were also falling from the sky -- it was like the plague was about to arrive or something or other.

I got to overhear cranky old men today, all talking about the state of the world. It's always nice to hear people say that anyone who disagrees with them politically is a "foe of representative democracy." It was even better to hear someone go off for thirty minutes about the new addition to one of the restaurants downtown. "It's not productive enough," I heard. "Things like that just encourage people to not work and spend too much of their time fooling around. Something better needs to be in that space, like a boot shop." Like there's not already a boot shop, just a few doors away.

Song I heard twice today: "Institutionalized," by Suicidal Tendencies. I haven't heard it in years, and, all of a sudden, twice in one day, on the same radio station.

Hot today, so I indulged one of my rare desires something which falls into the food category of Sublime Crap: a cherry limeade slush. Yum. It hurts my teeth just to think about it, and hurts my head when I drink it.

I'm going out of town tomorrow for the Fourth, so I don't know when the next entry will be. I can't be away too long, because someone's got to water the lawn and feed the dog.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.