duck-shaped pain

2000-07-06
Where I Breathe In Smoke

Today, I hope to be completely recovered from the other day's festivities. When I woke up yesterday, I was hopeful because I didn't feel hungover, like I righfully should. But, as the day progressed, I just felt crappier and crappier. I feel much better today.

The forest fires down near Gateway are still raging, so the entire valley is still blanketed in smoke and haze. You can barely see anything, let alone the Bookcliffs to the north and Grand Mesa to the east. At least ashes aren't falling from the sky like they were the other day.

The humidity here was so low yesterday (3 percent) that it hurt to go outside. If you tried to go out, every drop of moisture in your body would be sucked out by the air. Your eyeballs would dry up and your skin would flake off.

Between that and being sort of hungover, I managed to drink 25 glasses of water yesterday -- which is probably why I feel okay right now. It feels too dry to do anything today. Yes, I love the desert, but sometimes, love is bad for you.


There's a classified ad in our paper today that reads: "FOR SALE: $500 bill - only $800." I'm hoping that this is an extremely rare $500 bill or something, because it doesn't make any sense otherwise. You'd think you'd try and explain something like that better.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.