duck-shaped pain

2000-07-07
Where I Name The Eggplant

The thing in my fridge this morning that looked like an enormous aphid was not, in fact, an aphid. It was an eggplant on its last legs, slowly changing from dark purple to sort of brownish-purple. I'm glad, because when I very sleepily looked in the refrigerator this morning and saw eggplant/aphid laying there, next to the orange juice, it was sort of startling.

If my dad were writing this, which he isn't, he would call the eggplant "Nicole." We don't have many family phrases in common use, but one that comes up a lot is that all eggplants are named Nicole. You of course are familiar with those stickers they place on fruits and vegetables in an attempt to give them brand names. Well, for a long time, the eggplants at the store near our house on them all had stickers on them that simply said, "Nicole." It's not the name I'd give an eggplant, but it seems to fit.

We have some other family phrases, but they all make much less sense than that. "Don't stick any beans up your nose," is one, usually used after someone has "Happy Birthday" sung to them or used as a parting greeting when someone's going to be away for awhile.

The most inscrutable family phrase I can think of is "A Fart In A Skillet". I have no idea how to define this -- it just means whatever you say it means. It's usually used to describe someone jumping around on TV, but it's not limited to that, necessarily. Figure skaters are definitely Farts in a Skillet. Cheerleaders fit the bill, too. Other people are touch and go when it comes to their Fart in a Skillet status: gymnasts, baseball players, frisbee dogs, etc. It all depends.

I once called something A Fart in a Skillet (don't remember what) in front of my soon-to-be ex and he just looked at me with a stone face. "What the hell does that mean?" I, of course, assumed everyone used this phrase, but they were using it only the most secret of company.

The phrase, as I've been told, comes from my grandmother. She never gave any real meaning for it, or defined any rules for its use, but, she says, you know A Fart in a Skillet when you see it.


I'm feeling a little better this morning. I slept in late instead of going to yard sales today, and I think that helped a bit. So is the tea I made -- echinacea and peppermint, with slices of lemon and some honey mixed in. I'm also eating some sourdough bread with some wonderful cherry jam on it. The jam I bought at one of the local wineries (I know -- not where you'd usually buy jam, but it was better than their wines) a few months ago, and I'm about to the end of the jar. So I have to ration it out carefully and save it for only worthy pieces of bread.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.