duck-shaped pain

2000-07-09
Where I Establish A Routine

I hate being broke. I was just notified that a couple of books that I really really want were just listed on Half.com, and, of course, I have no money for them. One of them, The Oxford Companion to Food, has been on my wish list forever, and this is the first time it's ever been listed for sale. Now I'm trying to think of a way to aquire these books without really having any money...hmmmm.

Of course, if they're all still there in a few weeks, I might be able to buy them. While I am getting hosed over at work, a few small work opportunities have come up. I'm going to be working for my aunt and uncle for a week or so this month, helping out in their appliance store. I also just heard about some data entry work I might do. I usually try to avoid data entry work, but when it pays $20 an hour, I can put up with it.

I'm feeling a little better today, despite feeling completely crappy for the last few days. Everytime I think I feel better, however, I just feel worse again a few hours later. My body is laughing at me. It might be better if I knew what was wrong with me. It's not really a cold, and it's definitely not the flu. It seems too mild to be anything else.

Of course, I didn't make things any better for myself by going out the other night. My friend Z. was in town, accompanied by his new lady friend, and I went out to our usual drinking spot with them in Friday. We had a pretty good time, even though I probably wasn't up to it, physically.

Z. and I always go to the same place to drink, just like we always went to the same place for coffee before we were old enough to drink. We both like routine. I mean, we don't even have to really say, "hey, do you want to go to R------- to have a beer?" It's just sort of automatic. The one sort of sad part is sometimes, we try to find some other place to go and it never works out. Every other place we go to is just Wrong, in one way or the other. Too crowded. Live music. Very, very bad live music. Crappy beer. Nowhere to sit. So, we always end up going to the same place.

The weird thing about going there with Z. on Friday is that it was my second visit there that day. I went there a few hours earlier with my dad for dinner. Besides being my favorite drinking establishment, it's also my dad's favorite restaurant. It's actually one of only a few places he will actually volunteer to go to for dinner. It's a big pain in the ass to get him to go anywhere else. So, I was there for dinner and then there for the late drinking shift. My dad said I should have just stayed there all night, instead of going home between visits.

Crap...I just got mail that another book I want is now available, which I also don't have the money to buy. This is another one that's taken forever to be listed -- it seems that everyone wants to hold onto their copy of Wendell Berry's The Unsettling of America. I don't know if I really want to own this book, but I'd like to read it, and our library doesn't have it. Then again, it doesn't have a lot of things. I shouldn't be surprised by this.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.