duck-shaped pain

2000-07-21
Where I Examine New Products

I'll be out of town for the next few days, seeing a man about a job [1], so I don't know how often I'll be able to update.

Today was another in the increasing number of days where I've felt like crap. I woke up feeling okay, but after I had breakfast, I was nearly done for the day. Maybe putting evaporated milk instead of soy in my coffee wasn't a great idea.

Despite it all, I managed to do strenuous activities such as go to the library, shop for shoes, not buy any shoes, and drive 60 miles. Yay for me.

People drive like idiots out here in the desert, as yesterday's activities proved. Today's brush with automotive revenge came in the form of Idiot Bike Woman, who drove a late-model station wageon with six bikes attached to it, front, rear and top. She followed me very closely for about 37 miles, despite the fact that there were plenty of opportunities to pass and that I was clearly pissing her off.

Finally, she passes.

Then, I decide to take a minor shortcut so that I can skip the gridlock of North Delta. I drive for awhile through countryside, getting reaquainted with the cows and pigs. Finally, the road leads back to town and the highway I had just left. So I turn back onto said street and now find that I am once again right in front of Idiot Bike Woman, and she is as equally surprised as I am.

Went to the store later, to buy soy creamer and some tiny dentifrice. [2] Looked for eggplants, and the only ones they had in were very curvy and erotic-looking in nature. It would be a near-shame to eat one.

I also looked for one of those really long body pillows, since mine got left behind when I moved from Oregon. They only had ones that were fish-shaped, so I had the difficult choice of either a shark or a salmon. Somehow, I think salmon would be more enjoyable.

I got some weird candy I've ever seen before. It comes in a little round canister with a shaker top, it has a picture of a sunglasses-wearing duck on the outside, and is called "Baby Lucas." I got the sweet-and-sour flavor, but I could have also selected lime. It sounds more like a drink mixer than a candy, but it claims to be candy, adding the helpful disclaimer "ages 6 and up only." I don't know if I'm actually going to try any. It might go into the Gallery of Disturbing Foods [3] instead.


[1] Not a bear.

[2] Little tubes of toothpaste. Then, I started singing (to myself, more or less), the Happy Tiny Dentifice song. Don't look at me like that -- I know you've sung it too.

[3] Soon to be online!

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.