duck-shaped pain

2000-08-04
Where I Get Surprised

Today is just turning to shit as fast as is humanly possible, and it's only 9 a.m.

My goal for today was to drive to Montrose and start working on the catalog project. I was originally planning on doing this yesterday, but I got waylaid temporarily by whatever it is that's been wrong with me (see yesterday's entry).

So I got up early this morning, packed up all my necessary crap, and got ready to leave. I went out to my car, put all the stuff in the trunk, and closed it. There was a weird, non-trunk noise made when it closed. I went around to the side of the car to see what that noise could be, and I found a wonderful surprise.

Someone had smashed my car windows with a rock -- both the passenger side window and the front windshield. The passenger window was totally gone, and the windshield had a big crack in it.

The offending rock was sitting in the front seat. As far as I could tell, someone came up to the car, threw the rock through my open driver's side window (which I leave open because it's been so hot -- if it had been closed, it would have been broken), which smacked the windshield, bounced off, and broke a hole through my passenger windshield. It didn't have quite enough velocity to go all the way through the windshield, which is why the rock ended up on my seat.

So I called around, got a quote for replacing the windows (which isn't a terrible amount -- the sheer pain-in-the-assness of all of this is much worse), discovered that it wasn't covered by my insurance, and called the cops.

The police just showed up to take the details. I sort of regretted calling, because I don't have a Colorado driver's license or plates, and I got sort of hassled about that. Turns out there was a string of window breakings last night, which is why I actually got a visit (I was expecting them to just take a report over the phone).

So now I just get to sit around and wait for my windshield appointment.

Bleah.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.