duck-shaped pain

2000-08-07
Where I Reveal Planned Unpleasantness

I have to go to Oregon next week. And I don't want to.

Whether I go by plane or by enormous brown Ford truck is yet to be determined, but I have to go, one way or another.

I left a bunch of stuff behind in Portland when I moved last year. It's been languishing in storage for quite some time, and I do believe it's time to fetch it.

A bunch of this stuff I don't know if I want anymore. I've sort of forgotten about it, and I'm trying to operate under the idea that if I don't remember I own it, I don't need it.

Some things I do remember, and have missed ever since I left them up there. My good stereo is there, along with what remains of my record collection. Those I can't wait to get back, since it's been almost a whole year since I've heard the first Beat Happening album, Bee Thousand, The Freed Man and many other things I own only on vinyl.

Some other things up in storage are also valuable. I own a trunk that's been in my father's family since the turn of the century, and many of my relatives are very interesting in seeing it back here at home. I have some cool 50s furniture and lamps up there, along with my Fiestaware. That's pretty much the necessities.

My dad is going with me up to Oregon, which I appreciate, since he's taking time out of his busy life to do so. Still, I tried to get others to go, like my youngest cousin, before he got a job. I also planned on asking my friend Z., until he informed he that he would be busy most of this summer. [1]

This trip has been planned many times, but I think it's finally going to happen. First, we were going to go there last October. Then, it was early January. April, perhaps. Early May? Now is basically our last chance, since school starts in two weeks and my dad has to be on campus a bit earlier than that.

My dad wants to see some things while he's up there: the ocean (he still doesn't realize that Portland's not on the ocean), the Columbia River Gorge (much closer), and he wants to sample many local beers. All I really want to do is go to Powell's and I'll be happy. Maybe Trader Joe's, too.

It's going to be a long drive, whether we do it once or twice, through some mighty boring country. Eastern Oregon is dull, dull, dull, and is even more irritating because the speed limit through there is only 60. You can go faster in Idaho, but there's nowhere to go -- the interstate deliberately misses any scenic parts of Idaho. But you do get to drive by lots of potatoes and a weird, almost life-size replica of Delicate Arch by the side of the road. [2]

Utah is well, Utah. Driving through Salt Lake City is a complete nightmare right now because they're completely rebuilding the city for the Olympics. The last time I drove through there, it was 6 a.m. on Saturday, and there were traffic jams everywhere. Apparently, they're moving the interstate in order to put trains in its place, instead of just leaving the interstate as is and putting the trains next to it. I guess if you made the deserts bloom, you feel the right to put trains anywhere you damn want.

Then, many more miles of desert, a stop in Green River, Utah to eat at the Tamarisk, and then home. [3]

I've been searching all evening on the net for hotel and car rental information. One site, run by a well-known hotel chain (I'll spare them the shame of naming them), keeps spitting out the error message, "We currently have no hotels in Denmark." Good to know.


[1] Z., if you're reading this, I realize that this will be news to you.

[2] If your state is reduced to making large plaster replicas of other states' scenic attractions in order to bring tourists in, then you officially know you live somewhere mighty dull.

[3] The Tamarisk is the only decent restaurant that I know of in Green River. It's had about 1,000 owners and each of them has changed the restaurant to their liking. It's been a buffet, a Chinese resturant, a steak house and just about any other type of resturant you can imagine. Yet the name and the decor have always remained the same. Last time I went, they were a burger place, specializing in food named after local attractions and historical figures. I had the San Rafael Swell burger, but only because it had less onions than the John Wesley Powell burger.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.