duck-shaped pain

2000-08-29
Where I Acquire An Air Of Sternness

I went to what passes in this town for a department store for a few minutes this afternoon, on my way to the post office. They had in some cute pajamas [1] -- you know, the flannel kind, printed with tiny deer and little gods and fluffy clouds and the like. Their beacon call of adorableness (something which everyone hears but me) must have been overpowering, for women were flocking all over them, and purchasing them by the dozen. However, they only had two print choices in the size of pajama someone who might possibly look like me could wear -- pizza print or donut print. What the hell kind of message does that send?

(Looking at the above paragraph, I see than I wrote "gods" where I meant to write "dogs". I'm leaving it as is -- more interesting that way.)


The book business seems to be picking up. I sold almost no books for about four weeks, and then, last Friday -- seven orders in one day, which is a lot of wrapping and taping and standing in line to obtain postal services to do. It's been like that every day since. I went through the books again last night to try and find new ones that I couldn't live without, which was less difficult than expected.

The love/hate relationship between me and my stuff has teetered over to the hate side this week, as I continue to be disgusted by the sheer amount of crap I own. I tried going through some of it the other night, but gave up in such disgust that my sides ached. Last night, I decided to go through all my stuff and re-evaluate its importance to me -- would I take it with me if I was only allowed to own two boxes of stuff? For most items, the answer is no. You might think this is harsh, but some things have needed a good talking to for a long time.


[1] I can use the word "cute" here without wincing, because I am not using it in reference to something I would actually wear. I am a pajama admirer, but one who admires from afar, as I cannot stand to wear pajamas, not even for slacking about the house in the mornings.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.