duck-shaped pain

2000-09-11
Where I Cough and Hack

I am sick today. I think it's a cold -- In fact, I hope it's a cold because any other illness would just be too much for me to handle right now. My throat hurts, my nose is sniffy, my body feels completely wiped out.

Whether this will lead to me missing work today is unclear. I feel like I might be able to handle going on, but my employer is completely germ-phobic, so he's usually not too keen on disease-ridden people being around him (especially since we work in his house, around his family and the pet turtle).

Of course, being sick yesterday knocked out what was remaining of my weekend plans. Baking? Too much standing. Washing clothes? Too much effort. Reading my new books? Ideas hurt when they reach head. Writing in the paper journal? Can't hold pen. Even watching football seemed too strenuous (even though the Broncos won), so I ended up watching some woman shill eyeshadow (blue eyeshadow!) on QVC. Now that's the kind of TV that just makes you sicker.

The air show was yesterday, and certain factions in this house were very, very excited about the prospect of going (not me -- I don't consider a day of having my picture taken in front of various planes to be any sort of fun), but because I was sick, it just didn't happen. Then again, we only live a mile from the airport, so you can see (and HEAR, especially) all the action from the front yard. Some of the planes fly so close to the house that they look like they're going to land in the driveway. It's pretty neat, but before you realize that all will be well, that the plane is safely on its way back to the airport, there's always a few seconds of inner panic.


Saturday, I finally joined the rest of the human race by getting myself a video rental card. I realized that it had been almost a whole year since I had last rented a movie and decided to do something about this. Mainly, I just wanted to sign up so that I could see Hard Boiled again, something which I only have the urge to do about every year or so.

I don't watch movies very often. It's not that I don't like to once I get around to doing it, it's just that I can usually think of lots of other things to do before the idea of seeing a movie ever pops into my head. Some of it has to do with expense -- they're really sort of expensive, and I find that I can usually live without seeing most movies that come out.

So I go to the video store, get my membership, select my movies, stand in line for much too long, and then go home. Then I find that the VCR doesn't work. Neat.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.