duck-shaped pain

2000-09-12
Where I List Some Surprises

Baffling bumper sticker seen yesterday: "STOP THE BRUTAL MARKETING!" Hell yeah -- if I knew what that meant.


Besides being sick, I've spent some time in the past few days getting my domain/new web site working. And that's all, sorry. Nothing really interesting there now, though. You can take a look -- www.peachblow.net -- but you'll just end up coming back here.

Peachblow. I like it because it sounds weird and in the vaguest sense slightly obscene, but its origins are pretty utilitarian. It's the name of an old turn-of-the-century mining quarry that existed around these parts, and it's also the name of a specific type of Colorado sandstone. A quick internet search also reveals that it's the name of a type of cocktail, a type of glass, a variety of tomato, a tropical waterlily, a pale, waxy-skinned potato, an azalea, a hill in Essex County, New York, a pottery studio, the name of a stately house in Virginia, and a phrase in a Cocteau Twins song. [1]

I've actually had the domain name for about a year now, but it took me awhile to get around to doing anything with it. Although, I don't know if what I've done with it so far qualifies as "doing anything with it." At least it doesn't have little blinking things and construction signs all over it. For that, we can all be thankful.


[1] That last item doesn't surprise me at all -- all the others do, though.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.