duck-shaped pain

2000-09-20
Where I Say No To Marsupials

I drove to work early this morning, because I was awake and couldn't think of anything better to do. I took a different route, one that included use of the interstate and driving through several perilously curvy rural roads.

I was waiting at a stop sign when I saw this bizarre, handwritten sign attached to a post across the street. FREE WOMBATS it said, with a crooked arrow pointing left.

Now, I was in a hurry -- despite my leaving early, my meandering route had managed to make me wait -- but I still had time to think. Wombats? Here, in in western Colorado? How did they get here? Why are they FREE? How would a wombat fit into my life? Would he get along with the dogs?

I wanted to see what kind of place had FREE WOMBATS, so I turned left. I drove awhile, but there were no further signs to direct me to the House of Wombats. Not like I would have picked one up to take home, though....


Yes, I went out for Thai food last night. I had sweet potato and tofu curry and did not feel in the least bit bad about it. I did not quit while I was ahead, though, because I also got a splendid new purple bra and a new sketchbook -- both of which I really needed, you know?


Here's something I find much too familiar, as I'm trying to rid my life of old stuff. If I thought too much about my stuff being angry at me for getting rid of it, though, I would never have time to think about anything else.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.