duck-shaped pain

2000-09-21
Where I Go Against All That Is Right

Strange magazines keep arriving at the house, more and more of them each day. It started off with just some random issues of Sports Illustrated, but now the floodgates have opened and all sorts of stuff I would never read is now laying about the house.

It turns out my dad is responsible for all of these -- he had some miniscule number of frequent-flyer miles on an airline he flew once and will never fly again, and they offered to convert those miles into magazine subscriptions. Fine enough, but he decided to sign up for every single one they had, whether it was interesting or not.

Now usually, I have a compulsion to read anything that comes into the house, even the useless little magazines AAA and my insurance company send me. But this sudden flood of periodicals is sort of overwhelming, forcing me to leave some of them -- gasp! -- unread.

It's not all bad. For every item of suck (Inc.), there is an item of gold (Food And Wine). I have no idea what I'm supposed to do about The Wine Spectator, but it does look impressive laying around in case anyone impressed by that sort of thing comes to visit all of a sudden.

Some of these magazines require me to reexamine parts of my life. For instance, I thought I would be at least in my late 40s before I had a subscription to Sunset -- part of the natural progression of age. What's worse is that it's one of the magazines I actually get around to reading, and I've been known to think, Hey, that's a good idea... Clipping out crap and saving it, though, is beyond me.

Of course, getting all this crap to read in the mail has not changed one of my favorite weekly rituals -- going down to the big chain bookstore and reading every interesting magazine in sight for a couple of hours. I specify "big chain bookstore" here because I don't feel bad about going there and reading all their things and not buying any of them, the way I might if I did that at a smaller store. Plus -- more comfortable chairs.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.