duck-shaped pain

2000-11-03
Where I Am In Love With Inanimate Objects

Started my day off the right way, by placating my overwhelming urges to hear "I Shouldn't Have Eaten That Stuff" by the Happy Flowers and "Boobs A Lot" by the Fugs. Gotta repress those encroaching feelings of responsibility somehow.

Am I in love? Yes, yes I am. I am in love with the following: my new chunky roller ball pen, these grey polarfleece pants I bought, Saison Belgian Farmhouse Ale from the New Belgium Brewing Company, my winter coat [1], pomegranates, tofu jerky (still) and � now and forever � chai from the bagel shop. I've been working less this week, so I've made time each afternoon to reacquaint myself with its excellence.

It's been a very rainy, soggy week here in The Town that Mill Tailings Built [2], and The Leg has been acting up accordingly. At my last visit with my doctor, he told me that I would probably have problems in bad weather due to the foot-and-a-half steel rod imbedded in my lower right leg. Just what I need � my own built-in barometer. I can think of many other things I'd rather have installed � change machine, super-powerful defogger, extra orifices, anything but.

Messed around with the digital camera at work some more. There's not many things around the office to take pictures of, but I do the best I can.

Two pictures of cliffs in the fog, the view outside my window at work:


monument1


monument2



Plastic owl (to scare away woodpeckers with):



owl


[1] If coats are any reliable barometer of this sort of thing, this will be a decent winter. I finally have the coat I've been wanting for years � an oversized black wool navy-surplus peacoat. It's taken lots of looking, but I finally found one earlier this year FOR A DOLLAR (!!!) at the Methodist church rummage sale. It fits like a dream, and I have nothing but gratitude for the chubby sailor who decided to give it up. I only hope it doesn't meet disaster like my previous two peacoats: the black leather one (stolen) and the velvet one (crushed into a ball and doused with windshield-wiper fluid).

[2] I promise to explain later.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.