duck-shaped pain

2000-11-04
Brassicas -- Not Intended For Mere Display

Am I right to be completely freaked out by this?

Last night, I went out to get some Chinese food for dinner. I wanted something extremely cheap and easy, so I headed over to Dollar-A-Scoop (now Dollar-And-Ten-Cents-A-Scoop � the tragedy of inflation) for some food.

I was just sitting there in one of their disheveled brown booths, eating my sesame chicken [1] and vegetables in garlic sauce when this sort of spaced-out sixtyish woman with long grey hair came over, pointed at me and loudly said, "So this is where you hang out!" Before I could say anything, she left.

WHAT THE HELL DOES THAT MEAN?

Thinking about it today, I think, hey, maybe she confused me for someone else. Or maybe she was talking to shadows only she could see. Or maybe she was pointing at someone else and I'm just paranoid. Or I have a stalker. It could be any of those things, but it's a little bit unsettling, to say the least. I don't think I'll be going back there any time soon.

I think I'm going to make more soup tonight. It's a very bright and crisp fall day here, and it seems appropriate somehow. I bought some kale and some other ingredients, so I think I'm going to make azuki bean and kale soup. I almost hate to use the kale � it's really nice looking, like it should be in a vase or on display somewhere instead of being destined for my stomach. Oh well � such is the fate of the lowly brassicas.

Had a repellent breakfast/lunch ("brunch" = EVIL) at the bagel shop. Usually, I have decent meals there but I decided to try something new � a "scrambagel". It sounds good on paper � toasted bagel sandwich with egg, cheese and green onions. If I had made one, it would be good. But they use some sort of pre-beaten egg product that comes in a carton and they cook it in the microwave. Thus, it turns out all rubbery and bloated and generally tastes like it looks. I was seriously disappointed.

You know, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt. But when I overhear someone's conversation and that someone uses the phrase "But I'm an artist, you know�" three times in five minutes, it's hard to have any generous or positive feelings toward them whatsoever. Especially when you're battling with the scrambagel at the same time.

I think I've reached my limit as far as entry titles go. I've run out of "Where I..." ideas, and have to keep checking to see if I've repeated ones. So I think I'm going to stop titling entries that way, except for once in a rare while. I'm not going to change the old ones, though, because I won't be able to easily find specific entries then...


[1] In general, their food is digestible at best. But they make really good sesame chicken, at least the best you can find around here. That's why I keep going back, I guess.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.