duck-shaped pain

2000-11-08
No Little Mylar Baggies Allowed

I kept meaning to write yesterday afternoon. I kept meaning to write today. But I didn't, as you can see. I don't really know how to describe the things that I've been thinking about lately � I have about seven different half-written journal entries laying around, all of which could be decent pieces if I could just get my mind set on finishing them. But I haven't, for all sorts of reasons � insane week at work (including a three-state search for one measly little camera cable), the election (one of the few things that can make me a complete TV whore) and deep yet intermittent thoughts about the future, including such mild topics as a) where am I going to live? b) why do I want to live there? and c) how am I going to find a decent job?

Still, I have not been neglecting the topics for which I am mildly famous among a small few.

I took myself out to breakfast this morning. I woke up early with no provocation and didn't know what else to do with myself at that hour. Plus, I got paid yesterday. So I went out for a fancy breakfast, at the one fancy breakfast place in town. It's a tiny bakery which makes really good breakfasts, impeccable lunches and desserts that even I would order (not a big dessert eater, sorry). Like apple rum cake with hot caramel sauce � things like that. And, they have really good coffee.

I had oatmeal. Real oatmeal, with cream and butter and baked apples and brown sugar and pecans. Not a breakfast I could handle every day, as I was digesting it long past lunch time. And I got a free glass of their fresh orange juice thrown in, whether by accident or design.

I bought some newspapers to read with breakfast, as I was sure they would be chock full of news today. [1] I was right: both the Rocky Mountain News and the New York Times were packed to the rafters today. I get weird looks from others for reading the Rocky (this is a town where the ad slogan for our local newspaper is "Why read a Front Range newspaper?" � uh, because it only takes ten minutes at most to read the local paper, and that's if you stop to read an amusing section of "The Blotter" [2] out loud to someone within earshot), but the NYT is completely beyond the pale, as far as the local folken are concerned.

While I'm still trying to save up as much money as I can (have to get out of town! Now!), payday still means Time To Purchase. I nearly bought some books � I've been thinking about buying the hardcover Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth compilation for awhile, but haven't been able to find it here. They finally got a copy in at Enormous Chain Bookstore, but I still haven't talked myself into it. I have some of the comics already, so I've already read about half of it. Still, buying the book would allow me to put my comics away in little mylar baggies, if I were the sort of person who would put things in little mylar baggies. I did get a new journal, though, as it's time to start a new one � at least I accomplished something this week.

I also bought some new shirts � fairly plain long-sleeved, v-neck thermal shirts. One orange one and one green one with stripes. It's hard to say what I like more � orange shirts or striped shirts. Which is why I had to get both. I like them � they're fairly fitted without being too tight. Most shirts of this style I've tried on make me look like The Breasts That Walk On Two Legs, and I was ever so grateful to find some that didn't.

So, there's my completely content-free entry. I could have finished one of the good ones in the same time it took me to write this. I am lamer than lame.


[1] Plus, Wednesday papers = food sections. Especially the NYT food section. Special bonus: "The Minimalist."

[2] Daily column that recounts who got arrested, whose house was broken into, who got in a car accident. Easily the most popular/interesting/potential lawsuit material section of the paper. Hey, it's a small town and they name names�what could be more popular?



previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.