duck-shaped pain

13 November 2000
A Blow-by-Blow of Things Not Worthy of a Blow-By-Blow

Lazy, lazy, lazy Sunday. I didn't get up until 11 a.m, due to an epic night of movie-watching: Bound [1] , some Ringo Lam movie [2] and because I just could not get enough [3], The Decline of Western Civilization for the first time in years. [4]

Didn't do anything. Didn't write, except for two sort of hastily shot-off entries in here (this one and the previous. Didn't do any work. Didn't write the mail I meant to write (a mixture of replies to previous emails and fan mail to people deserving of fan mail). Didn't go to the store to buy new underwear (a serious goal of mine). Didn't even manage to drive myself to the bagel shop for coffee and/or soup. Other people spend their Sundays chopping down trees, getting the crap out of their fingernails, filing their obsessive collection of random newspaper clippings [5] and possibly getting some. Me, I got dressed. And that took some thinking, and possibly wore me out for the duration of the day.

Things got better towards the end of the day � I got industrious enough to make some dinner and then talked to S. on the phone for awhile. He has a new temp job, working with engineers in some fashion. I had to tell him to beware of engineers � once they corner you and start recounting engineer-related humor, you're a goner. (That was a joke � so you can just stop writing in to protest my mistreatment of engineers right this second)

I thought that one thing that might redeem this day was going to bed a little earlier. That way I could sleep my full eight hours, wake up earlier on Monday and have extra time to mess around before work (that's what I aim for, instead of getting more productive time in). So I head off to bed around 10:30 p.m. (which is early, for me), read some of my new book before turning off the light [6] and then settled down to sleep.

Where I laid awake for the next six hours.

Dunno why I couldn't sleep � I didn't ingest any caffiene post 1 p.m., I had a relaxing dinner, and I wasn't overtly stressed about anything (except for being worried about not being able to sleep � the more I worry, the less I can sleep, so the more I worry and so on and so on�) � but it continued and continued, no matter what remedy I tried. Changing positions? Check. Bed too hot? Check. Bed too cold? Check. How about wearing socks (don't laugh, it works sometimes)? Check. Milk? Check.

Finally, I got up and watched excruciatingly bad TV (including this pseudo-news show called "SOS In America" which had reports warning the view about drugs, incorrect prescriptions and FAT-FIGHTING PANTYHOSE � I doubt such a thing really exists, but I feel grateful in some way to have been warned against it).

Finally, around 6 this morning � sleep. Too bad it only lasted to about 7. Good thing I have strong coffee on hand to help me deal with this situation.


[1] Yowza. I, too, want earrings that can pick any lock.

[2] The Suspect, I think � sorry, it was late when I watched it and the box is upstairs and going to look is more effort than I want to exert right now. The clerk at the video store � the same one responsible for "This movie is about�lesbians, you know?" � looked at the box when I was checking out and told me, helpfully, "Did you know this was foreign? We can get you another movie if you like�" I know this store is located in the lowest-common-denominator section of my town, but you'd think one would yearn to rise above that.

[3] Also because I had a bunch of coffee last night. I've been trying to increase my caffeine tolerance again and trying to accomplish this by drinking it 'round the clock. Wish me luck.

[4] I taped it years ago, never watched it, and rediscovered it while rummaging through my box of tapes.

[5] Special bonus: Newspaper clippings that they then send to unwitting friends and relatives, with a note attached that reads, "I thought you might find this of interest." Of course, the recipient never finds even the smallest molecule of interest in it.

[6] The Quick And The Dead by Joy Williams, which is excellent and which you should read, too. I know that's an extremely generic-sounding review, but you should really trust me on this.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.