duck-shaped pain

22 December 2000
Nothing of Interest

Whining about things that shouldn't be whined about, that's me! Call me evil, call me shallow, but really, I just needed to update, and I can't think of anything else, for now�.

I ordered a shirt yesterday from Eddie Bauer. I received some money for Christmas, so I figured I'd go ahead and get the shirt, which I'd wanted for awhile. So I placed my order over the Internet, sprung for the slowest, cheapest shipping possible (since I didn't need it, really, until after New Year's) and got an email this morning saying my package had been processed and was on its way out the door.

It just arrived. It was sent via overnight mail, even though, according to my invoice, I was only charged for the cheap-ass 20-mule-team-over-the-frozen-plains shipping. I am befuddled. I should probably just be grateful instead of pondering how this happened � computer error? Employee mistake? A special bonus for buying so much stuff from them this year? Who knows.

In other why-are-you-complaining-about-this news, I have to decide whether to take next week off or not. I'm leaving towards doing it, but this would be a much easier decision to make if it were actually a paid week off (I'm a contractor, which means no benefits/paid time off). Still, there's nothing to do at work next week, so if I were to go in, I honestly would end up just staring into space for awhile and then going home after an hour or so, and what's the point in that?

If I do take the entire week off, I'm probably going to spend it all in Denver, since I'm going there for both Christmas and New Year's anyway. I really don't want to drive there and back, over 11,000-foot mountain passes, twice in one week, especially during the coldest, snowiest December in recent memory. So, it'll be a week of drinking coffee, thrift shopping, hanging out in bookstores and watching the Food Network for me. I am so ready.

More later � I'll have something interesting to say then, maybe.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.