duck-shaped pain

22 February 2001
Flagrant Noodle Sex

You know it's a good sign when you get handed a Thai iced coffee as soon as you sit down at your table. Without asking for it, or anything.

Even better was the garlic chicken. It was heavily spiced, but wasn't overbearing, nor too hot. It came perched on a bed of saut�ed scallions and cabbage, accompanied by a too-perfect dome of steamed rice. It tempted me to eat it as fast as I could. I resisted weakly. Still, it went all too fast.

"Did you like it?"

"Yeah, it was great. I actually came in thinking I would have the pad Thai, but this just called to me out of the blue."

"Not too many people order it, though."

"Oh, too mad. Their loss."

"You did something to your hair since last time. Is it darker?"

"Yeah, I dyed it. It was supposed to be brown, but it still looks dark purple. I don't know why. Thanks for the coffee, by the way. It was a surprise to just get handed it when I sat down."

"Oh, no problem. You're one of the only people who ever orders it anyway."


I decided to renew my video membership at the other non-Blockbuster place in town. It was a grave decision to make, as I owed them money -- $25 or so. I did it because I was sick of the high prices and crap selection at the place I usually go to -- the place that classifies movies as expensive "new releases" for up to a year and warns me when the movies I rent have subtitles and/or lesbians in them. I did it because the other place has Tampopo, among other things I actually want to see.

Still, $25 is a lot to pay in overdue charges, especially for movies I don't remember seeing that I rented 3 to 4 years ago. But I decided that it would be the right thing to do.

I waltzed up the customer service counter, waiting in line behind someone selling their Jewel CDs. Or attempting to, since the transaction did not actually occur -- they had too many used ones in stock already. There was some frowning, there was some scowling, and then it was my turn.

"I�um�had a membership here a few years back and I'd like to start renting movies again." Don't say anything about the late fees, I told myself. Let the cashier find out about them and then act completely surprised when she tells you the news.

I gave her my name. I gave her a different version of my name. I gave her my address. She stared at the screen. She bit her lip. She looked at me. "I can't find you in the system anymore. I think I'm going to have to sign you up for a completely new membership."

I pretended to be happily inconvenienced when deep down I was ecstatic. It doesn't take much to get me that way, I guess. Just getting out of some fees that I should have paid years ago and getting access to some better movies.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.