duck-shaped pain

27 February 2001
A Bit More Dignified

Yeah, I know. Didn't take long for me to get sick of the last design, either. Those of you who skipped a day or who had something better to do on Monday than hang around here (which would include most of you, and me, as well) completely missed out on the single-day-wonder all-blue design.

This, I think, is much better. And I managed to keep the same font.

Note to Mystery Woman At Target, Testing Lipsticks (On Hand Only): Please do not wear a belt when you wear overalls. Especially a big thick white belt with large, oversized overalls. Thank you.

At work today, I got sent on a mission to one of the local chain drugstores. This location was closing, so all of its stock was heavily discounted. My employer, ever on the lookout for cheap office supplies [1] sent me over there with a list of stuff to look for. Not surprisingly, someone earlier in the day had the same bright idea and cleaned the place out of printer cartridges, file folders and pen refills.

Good thing they had snow shovels, though. It was the only item on my list in stock. Your guess is as good as mine as to why we needed snow shovels. We have three already, but I guess we could always use more. You never know what you might have to shovel on a moment's notice. They had two in stock, so I grabbed them both.

The shovels didn't fit in the store's dinky little carts, so I had to carry them over my shoulders. Since I was there, I figured I would look around, seeking things to purchase for myself. I looked at lipstick (a sea of shiny pink � I bet you can guess without ever meeting me that I'm not the shiny pink lipstick type), face crap (no luck), even greeting cards (200 brother-in-law birthday cards and nothing else). Nothing. All I did get was interesting looks from the other shoppers. Of which there were plenty � people right and left filling their carts with all the undershirts and licorice they could grab. I was sort of puzzled, completely oblivious t the picture I presented the other shoppers. Then I got a glimpse of myself in the door of the freezer case and realized I looked like a total idiot carrying those shovels around.


[1] Something which he takes to near-laughable extremes at times. He thinks nothing of having me spend several hours calling around to office supply stores around the state, trying to save a couple of cents on tabbed dividers or strapping tape. By the time you figure in my hourly rate, long-distance costs and whatnot, it would have been a lot cheaper to just dash over to Office Depot down the street and buy them, no matter what the cost. Which usually ends up being the cheapest place anyway.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.