duck-shaped pain

28 February 2001
Vampire-Free

Yesterday was a cruddy, cruddy day. I don't really have a reason for it -- it just was. All day, I felt completely wiped out. It didn't feel like I had a cold, but rather, like I just didn't get much sleep (even though I racked up the full eight hours the night before) and was paying the consequences. I was both surly and completely flaky -- the combination of which would make me want to slap anyone else exhibiting both traits at once -- so I'm sure I was a joy to be around. I kept trying to self-medicate thoughout the day -- first with cup after cup of hoji-cha (made me jittery, gave me a bigger headache) and then the incredibly spicy hot green curry noodle soup left over from Monday's dinner (belly ache). Finally, I just went home, where I felt just as crap. Light made my head hurt. Watching The Simpsons made me surlier. As my head ached more and more, I also started getting very, very hungry, but the pain upstairs meant that I didn't notice it until I reached the point where I was hungry enough to gnaw off my own arm.

Needless to say, I wasn't really in any sort of shape to make something complicated to eat. There weren't really any appealing leftovers in the fridge, so I didn't want to go that route. Which means only thing: it was aglio e olio time. I used the best spaghetti I could find in the dark recesses of the cabinets, and minced up a mighty amount of garlic (six huge cloves -- a lot for just one serving). I set one spoonful of garlic aside while I saut�ed the rest and cooked the pasta. After the spaghetti was finished, drained, and returned to the pot, I poured in the hot garlic and oil, stirred things around a bit and then threw in the raw garlic. Lots of salt. Lots of pepper. Eat.

No headache after that. Garlic cures all.

previous | next

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.