duck-shaped pain

15 March 2001
Weepy Public Appearance

Still sick. Second day in a row of doing nothing but lying very still. One of those strange illnesses where you get these brief glimpses of wellness, think, "hey, I can do it! I can go back to work," only to then do something extremely strenuous like walk to the microwave or pick up the newspaper, and then you're laid out flat with exhaustion once again.

So I've spent a lot of time napping. However, I wonder if sleeping for 7 hours really qualifies as a "nap," even if it's done in the afternoon.

Even then, I needed to venture out this morning. I had to send a book out and pick some things up at the grocery store. As I walked through the aisles, I felt like I was encased in bubble wrap or, at the least, a light coating of dense fog, for everything felt and sounded like it was far away. I was nearly brought to tears by the prospect of entering my discount card code into the machine, as I could not remember what it was. I needed to enter my phone number, only the problem was that the phone number on file wasn't my current one. It was my phone number from back in Oregon. Which I forgot. The only number I could remember was my one before that, the one I used back in Denver before it got cut off and I lived without a phone for nearly two years. Which wasn't in their system. The cashier told me I was an "invalid customer." Normally, I would be logical and just enter the current phone number (someone in my family, at some time, must have signed up for a card using that number, I'm sure of it), but in this case I just wanted to weep.

I went into get tampons and Luna bars, but all I came out with was a pound of asparagus. I don't remember even seeing asparagus. I was a mess.


So, today, while laying prone, I started thinking about my last trip to San Francisco. I went there seven years ago, same time of year, presumably to help a then-friend of mine move. Not much moving or helping ensued -- we spent most of the time shopping and trying to get her really annoying dog [1] (which she took with her everywhere) to behave. Highlights, in retrospect: getting stuck in Stapleton [2] for ten hours on the first day of my trip and buying a jacket that cost $750. [3] Which is more than my entire trip this time is going to cost, even if I decide to go to the nice restaurants.


The other day, I handed a nice new non-disclosure agreement to sign at work. This one is even more restrictive than before. So while I've never been too specific about where it is I work or what it is I do, I probably shouldn't talk about it anymore. The guy I work for is pretty paranoid. So, when reading all further entries, you can mentally add the phrase "And I had a shitty day at work" and you'll be correct most of the time.

Speaking of w*rk, I'm going to have to work a lot in the next week or so, to make up for the days I just missed and the days I will miss when I leave on my trip. So entries in here may be sparse for awhile. Or not. It's hard to tell.


[1] I mean, I love dogs, but this was a super-irritating dog to be around. He was really spoiled and had never been trained, and was almost bigger than my friend, so she was almost afraid to try and train him. He barked constantly and chewed up anything, and my friend's insistence on taking him in the car whenever we went anywhere meant that we would both be coated with a layer of hair when we got out. She got deported, eventually. Don't know what happened to the dog.

[2] Crappy-ass old Denver airport. People who complain about the new one didn't get stuck in the old one enough, which would shut down as soon as there was a flake or drop of moisture in the sky. Airport geeks liked it, though.

[3] It's a nice jacket, though. I still have it. It doesn't fit me as well as it did when I bought it, unfortunately.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.