duck-shaped pain

31 March 2001
13 Ways of Looking at March 31st

Today was a nice day. I was originally planning to crank out the rest of my trip journal (got halfway there), but it was much too nice a day to stay inside.

It wasn't particularly warm, but it was warm enough. After a pretty tough winter, and the grey and gloom of the last week, even 65 degrees feels pretty warm. It was also amazingly sunny, so people got out their edgers and mowers and went to work. Halter tops got found. Shorts got picked up off the closet floor. Toenails got painted. From the way people dressed, you would have thought it was August.

My neighbors next door, the ones who wash their cars everyday (even in winter), went to work on their new deck. It's been quite the transformation over the last few weeks. Originally, they were going for white lattice to enclose the deck with, but for reasons unknown, that got vetoed in favor of stained wood slats. They started small and then it got bigger. Finally, I thought they were done, but they spent today painting the entire thing brick red. I thought it looked fine before, but what do I know. At least they decided to get a different type of patio table. They're real aficionados of the glass-topped table. Which would be fine, except for the fact that we get some pretty strong winds barreling though here every once in awhile. Whenever one comes blowing in, invariably their table gets caught up in it. It gets lifted up off the ground and blown around a bit, and the glass top usually gets smashed against a tree, ruining the table. Then they go out and buy another one. I think they were on their fourth or fifth table until they decided to go out and get a different, non-glass one. Good for them.

I decided it would be a good day to get out and drive around with the sunroof down. I drove awhile though the orchards in the east end of the valley. People were out furiously planting new trees and grapevines -- a small hint of the farming frenzy that will start next week, when the irrigation canals fill and open for the season. But since it's been rainy this month, signs of things to come were visible -- the cherry trees were blooming and there were little grapelets on some of the vines.

I went to an estate sale in the afternoon, one run by the mother of A., a friend of mine. A. was there helping out and we chatted for awhile. She thought I had moved. Every time I run into someone I haven't seen in a few months, they ask me why I haven't moved. I told her about my plan to maybe stay through the summer and then going on an extended trip to who knows where, and she thought it was a good idea.

The only thing I bought was a tiny creamer shaped like a pumpkin. Or tomato. It's sort of an orangey-red or reddish-orange, and it really could be either one. I bought it to go with a tomato-shaped pitcher I already have, because that's what I thought it looked like when I bought it. But when I got it home and placed it next to the pitcher, all I could think was that is such a pumpkin.

There was Fiestaware at the estate sale. I didn't buy it -- it was extremely expensive. They had two platters -- one turquoise, one yellow -- for $45 each, and a red coffeepot for $120. I picked them up and looked at them longingly, but there's. just. no. way. While I have a fairly sizeable collection already, all acquired at thrift stores and yard sales, I haven't bought any new pieces in about eight years. It's just too pricey.

The house the estate sale was being held in was great. It was average-sized, but it was in great shape and really neat -- original wood floor, lots of built-in bookcases and shelves, numerous windows. I'm not in any sort of financial shape to buy a house (plus, that would mean I'd have to stay here indefinitely), but the price of this house gave me pause -- $65,000. That's average to low for this area, and is the sort of price that makes people shopping in more expensive places cry. It was a great house, though. The owners hadn't even had any offers or inquiries yet.

Other various stops. Went to the consignment store to see what kind of clothes they were accepting. Bought a great dress that is not black -- it is purple, pink and green and is not hideous despite having all those colors in it. Stood in line for food at the taco truck. Two girls were talking, and one was telling the other that she bought a $500 coat the other day, "and then I was sad, because I forgot that I don't have a job."

How do you forget you don't have a job? Where do you find a $500 coat around here, anyway?

Had to go to Enormous Chain Store Whose Name Starts With "W" after that. It's the only place in town that sells refills for my pen (the place I originally bought the pen from does not, oddly enough). Grabbed those, walked around, and they had their garden center set up. I didn't buy anything, but I made my way through the aisles of pots and hoses and seeds and ugly patio furniture. The last thing didn't go anything for it, but looking at the rest of it gave me a really good feeling. They even had eggplant seedlings. Can't beat that.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.