duck-shaped pain

9 April 2001
Live In The Now, Man

Updating has been lackadaisical lately. Unfortunately, everything else hasn't, which is the cause of it. I was contented with my 30-hour work weeks. I had plenty of money and enough time to do things. Sure, I thought, I'll up myself to a 40-hour week so I can save up money for traveling and other things.

What I was not prepared for was the 50-hour weeks. All I can say is that when I get home, the last thing I want to see is a computer. And it's a good thing that I get paid by the hour.

So, now you know.

With all this busy-like activity, you'd think that the last thing I would want to think about is volunteer activities, but you'd be wrong. I'm supposed to talk to someone at the local public radio station this week about volunteering there. Not like I have any real skills, but I'm pretty much willing to do almost anything, from checking in CDs to making coffee.

To be specific, this is the good public radio station. We have two, actually -- the bad one, which plays only NPR programming and Lite Classical, and which is piped in from Denver, and the good one, which is local and freeform and, while the programming at times tends to focus a little too much on tragic folksingers, it's a decent community asset. I'm all behind whatever it takes to bring the music to the people, especially the people here. They need it.

Also, they have a really good yard sale each year. With actual books that people might want to read for sale.

Part of this has been motivated by the fact that I'm staying through the summer. If I'm going to travel, I need to work, and I had to decide by this week whether or not I was going to stay through August. There's plenty of work to be done, and the project that I'm working on requires that sort of commitment. So, while I'm here I might as well enjoy it. This is a pretty nice place to live in the summer. The weather is nice and there's things to do and you can sit out on the porch and watch the neighbors re-sand their deck.

Ever since I've moved back, I've sort of avoided getting seriously (or even not-so-seriously) involved with things or other people. I've sort of been a loner, which is not a bad thing, but I think it�s kept me from fully enjoying myself. I've sort of imposed a state of transience on myself, thinking that I shouldn't attach myself too much to anything because I'm not really here. I'm going to leave soon and then I can do whatever I like Which I still intend to do, eventually, but there's really no reason to limit myself in this way. I mean, if I'm here, I'm here, and I should pay attention to that and try to get as much out of it as I can.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.