duck-shaped pain

30 April 2001
Hard Day At The Rice Mine

No Clock Day, otherwise known as the day before yesterday, was successful. So successful that I thought about extending its run to Monday, but other ideas prevailed and I had to slink off to work.

I didn't do much, though. I didn't even leave the house. I read some, perused a bunch of travel guides I brought home from the library, drank wine, ordered Chinese food, and took more than one bath. Which could be considered the height of luxury, considering that I wasn't even remotely in need of one.

The day sure did seem long, though. I finally capitulated and looked at what time it was around 9 p.m. (wanted to make sure I got to bed at a reasonable hours, you know -- given my natural tendencies, I could easily stay up until 2 or 3 a.m. if I didn't watch it), but it felt like it was much, much later. The time between when I woke up (10:30 a.m.) and when I looked at the clock could have been 20 hours or so -- that's what it felt like. But I felt completely relaxed the entire time and I managed to do a lot of things that I wanted to do, so maybe a No Clock Day is in order every weekend.


Other than that, not much of interest. Things are hectic all of a sudden, at a time when they shouldn't be. I had it all penciled in: Not Stressful Week. You Can Actually Go Out To Lunch This Week Week. Leave At Three Instead of Five Week. I feel robbed somehow.

The strange dreams continue. Another one last night, although it was nowhere as detailed as the amazing chicken dream last week.

Last night I dreamed I was a prisoner of sorts, except that I had been assigned to the dreaded risotto mines instead of a jail or camp. The other inmates and I would work all day in deep, dank caves, hacking big chunks of Arborio rice out of the ground. After the day was done, we would have to haul it slowly back up to the surface, where we would have to then prepare it for a cast of thousands. I was assigned a truly large pan -- one easily the circumference of a doghouse or fairly large ottoman. I had to stand next to a lake full of broth and draw liquid out of it using only a straw. I was ordered to make a super-fancy deer liver and straw mushroom risotto, which I failed at, miserably. I could never get enough liquid into this enormous pan, and things burned and I forgot the shallots and that's when I woke up.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.