duck-shaped pain

9 February 2003
Cheese ball surprise.

I can't believe how much better exercising regularly has made me feel, at least as far as stress relief goes. Anyone familiar with last semester's entries will recall that by this point last fall, I was wound up like a top and I didn't feel like I was over it until some time after the semester ended. Today, I walked a very brisk 2 1/4 miles, and then worked out to part of a yoga DVD someone gave me, and I feel really, really good. [1]

Going by my calendar, it looks as if I have walked 46.5 miles since January 5, the day I started walking regularly. I am very proud for me, since sticking to any sort of plan for over a month is a rare occurrence. (Coming up with a total makes me sound like I'm affiliated with five hundred, but I'm not, even though I have been invited to join. I'm sort of chicken: committing to such a definite goal has usually been the kiss of death for previous self-improvement plans. I may try to get over it and join, though.) Now if I could just get all my other work done, as well.


Menu for tomorrow's event: red pepper and garlic hummus; spinach, artichoke, Parmesan and asiago cheese dip; herb-roasted olives; fresh mozzarella cheese balls; sesame pita bread wedges; sourdough bread toasts; raw vegetables and pretzels. I had $25 to spend, and all of the above came to a grand total of $25.03. I think I can donate the three cents, and I am very pleased at the menu I came up with on such a small budget. Other student events I've been to in the past have always featured burnt cookies, watered-down punch, and slimy lunch meat on toothpicks. I don't think there's going to be anyone there who will be upset that I went for a vegetarian menu: the only meat we could afford on our budget was icky and chock full of sodium nitrates. I eat plenty of meat, but I'd rather save up for good meat rather than just getting the cheapest thing I can find. I'll let you know what the reaction to my menu is, though.


[1] I also feel great because all the brisk exercise made me forget about the increasing pain in my "tooth", something which I hope to remedy with an expensive visit to the dentist sometime this week.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.