duck-shaped pain

31 January 2003
I should never be in charge of anything.

Tonight is a boring night at home, which is a good thing right now. I've had a very long day, with two quizzes that actually should have been called tests, due to their gravity, length, the amount of preparation needed for them, and the percentage of my grade each is worth. This after I stayed up late last night writing a loooong, week-late paper on women in antebellum South. (I had official sanction to turn it in late, which is the only reason it was so: work always expands to fit the time available.)


So�Arial or Helvetica?. And, just so you know, why Arial is a bad, bad font.


In other news, I worked today at my job, which looks as if it might be starting again for real, soon. Nevertheless, I was just about fed up today, two hours into my return. The Employer called the other night at 11 p.m., unexpectedly. I was expecting another call, which is why I actually answered it. It was not who I wanted it to be. We agreed that I would come in today at 2 p.m. and work, though.

I get to work today, and there is no Employer there, nor anything for me to do. So I hang out for a while and shoot the shit with my co-workers, finding out what's really going on with projects, who's quitting, things like that. Then I sit around for another hour, which would be okay if I wasn't very tired and very cranky from schoolwork and what seems like weeks without proper sleep. About two hours after my arrival (I would have just gone home, but I actually need the money earned for these two hours), the phone rings. I answer it, with the company name and my name, and it is The Employer. "So why are you there?" he asks me. I give him my spiel: uh, hey, you asked me to come in. "Oh," he replied. "I didn't think you would actually remember that." At least I get paid for it.


For lunch, the last few weeks, I have been eating little food bars (Pria bars, if you're that interested) in the interests of portability (I can slip them under door cracks, if I were to encounter someone locked in their office and in need of instant nutrition) and my budget. They're okay for what they are, but I feel as if I am eating what is essentially a glorified food pellet, like an astronaut or a rat in a Skinner box.


I got elected El Presidente of the history honor society at school this week. It was not a difficult campaign: everyone else who has held the office this year (and there are several) quickly decided after their appointment that it wasn't for them, and eventually, it came to me. I made the mistake (after all, my life motto is "Never Volunteer for Anything") of mentioning offhand that I was thinking of running for the office next year, possibly, which got misinterpreted as Yes, I Would Like To Be President Right Now. Last semester would have been a better time to be in charge: we didn't do shit. Now the hope is that we will do things, and I was very glad that others had ideas about what these things would be. I make a good figurehead, if others do the work; or I make a good, hard-working minion for someone else, but being both in charge and being proactive about it are not strengths of mine. I tend to be a bit of a smartass (or, worse, all bumbly, stammer-y and incoherent) when I a) get nervous and b) have to speak in front of a bunch of other people, so I was coming up with unprompted one-liners right and left, which probably didn't go over well. I can never tell when people share my sense of humor.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.