duck-shaped pain

6 June 2001
Or Maybe It Was The Curry

I don't know what it was: taking vitamins, getting nine hours of sleep, wearing my tightest black jeans [1] to work, accompanied by a small black t-shirt [2] and clunky black oxfords, [3], listening to The Stooges [4] most of the day, or the four-shot espresso con panna [5] I had at noon, but I felt really bad-ass today.

Much more bad-ass than my task today -- redesigning the hydrology data forms for the umpteenth time -- required. I had no idea what to do with my spare bad-assedness. Without a proper conduit or container to store it in, I just let it go, releasing it in to the atmosphere, where it floated away to attack ducks, cause leaves to curl, and create ambiguously shaped clouds.


[1] Not actually that tight. Sort of normal, actually. It's just in comparison to the others that they qualify as "tight."

[2] Closer to the commonly accepted definition of "tight" than the jeans. Not so form-fitting as to reveal the sweater punchers underneath, though.

[3] The term "clunky" does not do their shape and bulk justice -- they're more like wearing comfortable, orthopedically correct anvils on your feet.

[4] Fun House.

[5] Espresso with whipped cream on top. Officially? I'm trying out new things. Unofficially? New counterperson had not been trained in americanos yet. I offered to talk her through it, but she said she "could get written up for that," so I went for the next best thing.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.