duck-shaped pain

13 December 2001
What People Are Up To

Last night, when I got home from an extensive shopping trip with my aunt, there was a voice on my answering machine.

It was The Employer, returning my long-lost message of almost a week ago. He didn't sound apologetic or anything, no explanations as to why it had taken so long for him to respond -- instead he sounded surly and disgruntled, as if it had been my fault somehow for the delay. He wanted to know my availability, but this was said in a tone which insured that my first instinct would be to say I was booked up from now until forever. Still haven't called back - I'll try to do it sometime today, if I ever get up the nerve.

A few hours after hearing this message, I woke up with the worst headache I've ever had. Intense pain, lots of throbbing, and if I moved my head around at all, it got worse. After a while, it felt like I had no head anymore -- just an angry, seething orb atop my shoulders. I tried to get back to sleep, figuring that ignoring the headache might make it go away, and after some time, I succeeded. When I woke up this morning, my head still hurt, but it isn't that bad right now.

Coincidence between these two events? I don't think so.


Items (summarized) from The Blotter: [1]

  • Someone used a piece of petrified wood to break into a house this weekend. Police report that the piece of petrified wood was first used to try and pick the lock of the front door, but eventually was just used to smash a window. Items taken included a jug of hand lotion and a drill.

  • Someone was arrested Monday morning for making unauthorized hay bales. It wasn't his field, it was wasn't his hay, but there he was, out at 3 a.m., baling away. Damage was estimated at $150.

  • A woman called the police when she noticed suspicious activity in the field down the road from her house. When officers arrived, they found the owner of the field standing in the middle of it, staring off into space. The man claimed that he was just out looking at his field.

  • A local teen was pulled over Sunday evening for speeding. She had been clocked at 160 miles per hour, driving out on a very straight, very rural, almost always deserted road. She claimed she was "in a hurry."

  • The sheriff's office was called in to solve a dispute between neighbors. One neighbor had put up an extensive Christmas display, and then the other neighbor put up the exact same display. Tensions were high, and the two had been taking their jealousies out on each other by smacking each other's (identical) trucks with baseball bats. "He's always copying me," said the first neighbor.


[1] The Blotter is the most popular part of our local newspaper. It's a list of crimes, misdemeanors, traffic stops and whatnot that took place in the last few days. It's popular because it lists all sorts of gossip fodder -- names, ages and addresses of the offending persons, lists of what was taken, how much the damage was worth, all sorts of things that nosy people (which is a category that includes everyone in town, including me) want to know.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.