duck-shaped pain

05 October 2001
Le Crap

So, anyway, I'm not going to Thailand.

My flight was cancelled, as I thought it might. It was actually cancelled a while back, but I only found this out last night, when I called to confirm my reservation again. And there was no reservation to confirm.

Oh well.

Me and the reservations agent (who was very nice, by the way, and properly sympathetic) went back and forth for a while, trying to come up with some alternate dates, but we couldn't find anything that worked. Since it's coming up on the busy season over there, and since other cancelled flights on other airlines have caused somewhat of a rush on any available flights to Bangkok, pickings were slim. The dates available were completely random, and completely not right. I could have gone over and come back in January, at a time when I'm supposed to be in school. Almost all of the available choices didn't fall in the dates allotted to me by my visa, and I didn't want to go though the rigamarole of getting another one.

So, I'm sort of disappointed, but I'm also sort of not.

I was looking forward to going. Six weeks of mangoes, wats, and pad siew sounded good to me. But I'm also pretty content not going, right now, now that I know. I still have six weeks off and adequate funds. I get my money back for my flight (we'll see what I get for the other one, though). I'm sure I'll come up with an alternate plan.


On the positive side, this morning I shopped around on the 'net for some new water-related equipment, searching far and wide for things I know nothing about, like flumes. I came across this picture, though, and it amused me greatly:





Can't have enough guys grinning at their equipment, I say.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.