duck-shaped pain

26 October 2001
Where I'm Going, What I'm Taking

Well, everyone, I'm off. Off to drive endlessly though several neighboring states, seeing people and endless miles of highway. There are sure to be some thrilling sights, and some dull stretches (my friend Z. describes one part of the road down to see him as "like Kansas, but without any plants). I guess if I had to pick a theme for the upcoming week or two, it would have to be:

THRIFT STORES OF THE SOUTHWEST TOUR 2001

Or something like that.

So keep checking back -- I'm sure to update now and then. Then sooner than now, but possibly the other way around.


What do you listen to on such a trip. I spent this morning assembling a bunch of CDs that are either good for driving or good for just anything, and here I submit my choices:

  • The Minutemen - Double Nickels on the Dime

  • Columbia County Classics, Volume 1: The Golden Age

  • The Essential Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys

  • The Magnetic Fields - Charm of the Highway Strip

  • Meat Puppets - Meat Puppets II

  • X - Los Angeles

  • Yo La Tengo - And Then Everything Turned Itself Inside-Out

  • Roy Montgomery - 324 E. 13th Street #7

  • Michael Hurley, The Unholy Modal Rounders, Jeffrey Fredericks and the Clamtones - Have Moicy!

  • The Flatlanders - More A Legend Than A Band

  • Rufus Wainwright - Poses

  • Beat Happening - Jamboree

  • Galaxie 500 - Today

  • Momus - The Little Red Songbook

  • Le Tigre - Le Tigre

  • Sonic Youth - Goo and The Lee Tape (personal compilation of all Lee Ranaldo songs)

  • Felt - Crumbling the Antiseptic Beauty/The Splendor of Fear (figured out the title, finally)

  • The Magnetic Fields - 69 Love Songs, Volume 3

  • The Incorrect Music Companion, 2001 Edition

  • Some CD I made of wacky songs

  • Deltron 3030



previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.