duck-shaped pain

7 February 2002
They Scream and Wear Shoes, Too

The sound you hear faintly in the background is the noise made by my few remaining brain cells, retreating in horror after contemplating the amount of work I've found myself in. They make noise because they scream as they retreat.

Four school days between now and next Tuesday. In that time, four tests. A ten-page paper due. And I have to help teach a class on Monday, on a subject I still know very little about (museum exhibit design). In order to teach this class, I have to interview this guy who works at the local museum. Which would be fine, except that he is nowhere to be found. I feel like I'm going to have a heart attack.

It dawned on me yesterday while I was at work that as much as I've bitched about my job, it is much, much easier than school is. There's never any deadlines, nothing ever gets done, I can take weeks off without much consequence. Of course, I felt sort of stagnant there, too, so this is sort of pointless nostalgia for leisure time of the past. And a good sign that I should get back to work.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.