duck-shaped pain

19 September 2001
Whine, Whine, Whine

Several nights in a row, I have had intense dreams. They have all been, without exception, about quitting my job. What do you think this all means?

I think I know, but I'm trying to look on the bright side. I only have 15 more days of actual full-time work left. When I come back from my trip, I'll probably only be working 15-30 hours a week. When I start school in January, it will be even less. This cheers me up beyond belief.


Even though I'm not scared of flying [1] right now, the uncertainties associated with my trip in a couple of weeks are driving me nuts. Besides the possibility of all-out war, the things that I'm currently worrying about is the possibility (which is likely at this point) that American will go further in the hole and end up canceling my flight to Bangkok. I don't think I could find another one at this point, and certainly not one that I can afford. My other trip-related worry is that the dollar will slip against the baht. The exchange rate has been holding steady all summer at 45 baht to the dollar, but yesterday, it went down for a while to 40 baht to the dollar. I'm thinking, great, it's going to go down lower and then I won't be able to afford to go. But then it closed at 46 baht to the dollar �Ea sign that I should really stop whining. No one likes a whiner, especially not now.


Definition of eternity: standing in line at the coffee shop, and the person in front of you orders 12 frappucinos (or some other drink requiring lots of ingredients and a blender) �Edrinks for the entire office. And there is only one person working behind the counter.


[1] Actually, I think the next few weeks might be a great time to travel, at least domestically. Security will be tight, planes and airports won't be crowded, and airlines are practically begging people to fly.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.