duck-shaped pain

24 September 2001
Other Assorted Events

Other highlights of my weekend in Denver:

I went shopping. I don't know was secretly in need of some retail therapy or what, but the only thing I was really into during my few days there was going and looking at potential things to buy. I spent a good deal of Thursday at the Canyon of Shopping, looking around at things. I had a list of things I wanted; however, I talked myself out of many of those items. What I did end up getting was a big fuzzy sweater and a pair of black Dansko clogs. I've been wanting a pair for a long time, and I finally succumbed. Now I have three pairs of comfortable shoes.

I also went to thrift stores on Saturday I bought a green linen-y blouse (actually rayon and ramie doing an admirable impression), some red pants with jaquard flowers on them, and a pair of tan linen pants (which still had the tags on them).

I spent four and a half hours hanging out with drunk real estate agents. When I told my mom that I would be coming over this weekend, she said that she was pleased, because then I could accompany her to some work function that she had to bring a guest to. Details were sketchy, but since she was letting me sleep on her couch (read: loveseat) for three days, I figured it would be a good idea to go. It turned out to be a fancy-dress event, something requiring shoes that were not sandals (the image of me having to totter around in horrible high heels was actually what spurred me into purchasing the above shoes now instead of later) and hose. So we showed up early -- before the bar opened, certainly -- because my mom had to help set up. So I just sat on a couch and watched people.

The event had a nautical theme, which ties into a deeper, more universal theme of People Always Want What They Can't Have, because I assure you that there is not a seagull or a buoy to be found in the entire state of Colorado (correspondingly, some group in Florida is probably throwing some mountain-themed event even as I type). There was a reggae band, who played to a room full of glasses and napkins until the people arrived.

Most of the men looked like they'd just come out of the office, except for a few who put in some effort. The women, however, were expected to be especially dressed up. Quite a few members of the camp which equates "sparkly" with "fancy" were present.

The meal was okay -- salmon on potatoes, with three grim spears of asparagus clinging on to the side of the salmon for dear life. It was tasty, but I'm glad that neither my mom or I had to pay for it. But there was pie, and plenty of drinks. At one point I had four beverages lining the edge of my plate -- a gin and tonic, some ineffectual white wine, a glass of water and some coffee. Throw in some juice, and I would have an assortment of drinks for every occasion.

The ceremony was the hard-to-sit-through part. It was an awards ceremony, so there was a lot of clapping and standing and crying -- repeat, repeat, repeat. My mom had to take photos of all the award winners clutching their prizes, so we had to stay through the entire thing. Once there was a chance to get away, though, we ran.

Then I went to another party. Attended by people I actually like. Which took place right after the aforementioned party, but at the opposite end of the metro area, which was a fun drive. Some guy I sorta kinda know was moving to Portland, but the appeal for me was that people who I know who also know this guy better than I do would be there. So I showed up and hung out with S. for a while and his two roommates for a while, and this odd guy B. who I keep running into, and I wished the Oregon-bound guy good luck, but then I was fading after the long drive and four and a half hours with the real estate agents, so I drove back and crashed.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.