duck-shaped pain

28 March 2006
Distracted by tomatoes.

It's 10 a.m. and I am already tired. This is perhaps due to the fact that I woke up at 5 a.m., and then read 50 pages of a ponderous, overwritten book, and then walked two and a half miles. Yes, I believe that is the reason. Time to go home and go to bed.

Right now, I am sitting in my office, preparing for this week's classes. My students are assigned four readings this week, and none of them seem to tie in easily with one another, so coming up with discussion questions may be difficult. (I didn't pick the readings, mind you: the professor I work for did.) I am very tired of being a TA. Occasionally, I enjoy it, but, at this point in the semester, I am not. Mainly, I'm looking forward to the summer, I think my students are, too. They can space out; however, I can not.

All I can think about today is food. When I've tried to read lately, I think more about things I want to make for lunch/dinner/whatnot than what I'm reading about. Today, instead of parsing the assigned excerpt from Kropotkin's Memoirs of a Revolutionist, I'm thinking about the spicy tomato roasted chicken I want to make for dinner (with a side of coconut-lime quinoa, perhaps, or some sauteed kale). Will this help my students? Probably not. But, I bet they'd rather talk about what they had for dinner, too.

the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.