duck-shaped pain

11 February 2003
Sweet drowsiness.

Nothing brings on a wave of egotism, at least for me, like being in pain. The pain in my tooth reached levels yesterday that made it the only thing I could possibly think about, and I thought that it should be the only thing others thought about, too. I tried not to bring it up too much in conversation yesterday, but it was difficult, since it was making me really bitchy and I felt as if I had to explain why. And, since The Event was last night, and most of the conversations I had were about it, I needed to tell people that I might have to bow out of attending the whole thing, thanks to the ungrateful little piece of porcelain and metal that is making my life hellish right now.

I called my dentist's office yesterday morning, only to find that the earliest he could see me was a week from this Friday. Which made me want to weep. I then called umpteen other dentists, looking for an earlier appointment. Unfortunately, the earliest I can see a dentist in this town is a week from Wednesday. I went far beyond just wanting to weep at that point.

Later in the day, I got in touch with my dentist, and not just his receptionist. He sounded puzzled that I would be having the sort of pain I was having, since the tooth in question is fake and has no nerves, and several root canals were performed on that part of my mouth prior to its installation. He thought that the impact that broke off part of the tooth the other night might have also opened up the area under the tooth to infection, which would explain the hurt. So he called in a prescription for antibiotics and (oh, happy happy) also a prescription for some powerful painkillers, which should help tide me over until I can see a dentist and hopefully clear up any infection.

The prescriptions weren't ready until late yesterday afternoon, right before I was due to leave for The Event. So I went and picked them up, and then drove over to the school. With some help, I brought in the food and drinks and other items for the evening's festivities. My mouth was in complete agony, though. It had been hurting all day, but now all the over-the-counter painkillers I had taken before had worn off, and I couldn't take my new special drugs until I got home, since they had the potential to make me very drowsy and unable to drive. So, once one of the other club officers showed up, I explained the situation, and we both agreed that I should go home lest I either pass out or rip someone's arm off in an angry froth. I did a few presidential duties: introducing myself, and thanking the speaker for showing up, but as soon as I could, I drove home, and relaxed myself with some powerful drugs and the finest television event of the entire year, the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.