duck-shaped pain

17 December 2002
Four eyes, on demand.

I look a little bit different today than I did yesterday. I didn't wake up with radically improved hair or grew six inches overnight, but rather, I have glasses.

Those of you personally acquainted with me may be shocked. She's never worn glasses before, you're thinking. What happened? Did she put out an eye? No, nothing happened. I'm not even really wearing glasses, since what I acquired is a super special, secret pair of fake glasses.

I love glasses. I look good in them, and I like wearing them. Yet, I have perfect eyesight. I am an anomaly: everyone in my family wears glasses (or contacts) except for me, all of my friends do, all of my coworkers do, and so on. Occasionally, I'll be deluded into thinking that I have met yet another member of the Perfect Eyesight Club, and then they'll mention, as an aside to some other conversation, how their contacts are bugging them or how their dog sat on their glasses so they are stumbling around blindly that day. Which leaves me, who wants to wear glasses, but just at opportune times.

I bought mine at the mall, which makes them tacky. They came from Hot Topic, which makes them even more suspect. They guy behind the counter wanted to see what they looked like on me before I bought them, so I indulged him, and apparently passed muster. You can see for yourself if you'd like.


My break so far has consisted of: staying up late watching movies rented from the library (too broke for Hastings, unfortunately, plus I would also have to confront my many late fees) yet still managing to wake up at 8 a.m. sharp each morning (is this a good thing? I think not); buying Christmas card supplies; braving the mall on Sunday to finish buying presents amongst hordes of dazed, angry-looking people; writing in my journal again (I sort of forgot to do this during the semester); actually finishing a book ( If on winter's night a traveler, which I read for the second time -- so much for starting with something simple, like TV Guide); cooking up a storm (last night: chicken and noodles); and sitting in my office that I am slowly cleaning and straightening up, and listening to CDs. I could get used to doing this all the time.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.