duck-shaped pain

13 October 2001
Chickpea Lust

Hummus.

I went to Sam's to buy coffee on Friday, and found that the best side-effect of their recent remodeling is that they have an expanded selection of food items. Most of them are sort of unexciting (more so in larger quantities), but then I found that they now carried big containers of hummus.

Most of you, I'm sure, live in places where hummus is an everyday occurrence -- you probably can't swing a cat without hitting a wide selection of the stuff -- but my town seems to be an unofficial Hummus-Free Zone. Sure, one can occasionally find small tubs of the stuff in the deli section, but it's priced as if were made of surgical-grade steel instead of garbanzo beans. I guess I could try my hand at making some, but there seems to be an odd Tahini Embargo going on here, and I can't find any of the stuff when the thought hits me.

Anyway - tub o' hummus, $3.50. Can't beat that.

Then today, I found dolmas on sale at The Store Devoted to Failure [1] while I was shopping for a big plastic tub, and I figured that this was a sign.

So for dinner tonight, there was hummus. There were dolmas. And I made falafel. A holy trinity of things you can eat with your hands. [2] Very pleasing.


[1] The idea of discount dolmas, sold on the shelf right next to fanny packs and tampons, made me think for a second about buying them. But it�s been a long long time since I've had them, and that thought won out in the end. They were actually pretty tasty.

[2] Yes, I eat hummus with my hands, as if I was eating out in a tent in the desert or the woods or something like that. You can proceed to be grossed out now, thinking about me licking it off of my fingers with glee.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.