duck-shaped pain

29 October 2002
Some information is better than no information.

At least I got some news today, although it wasn't good news. But even bad news is better than the wild speculations that have been flying through my office as of late. People do weird things when they think that they're going to lose their jobs.

Anyway. The projects that I've been working on for three years is being shut down by the company that is funding it. We have about a month to assemble and ship off the rest of the data, but after that, no project. I have no idea what this means for me and my coworkers. The Employer keeps saying that no one's going to be let go yet, but really, 95 percent of the things we work on are connected to these projects, and their absence is going to leave us with a lot of free time, but not much else. As far as I know, once December rolls around, I might not be needed anymore. But I don't know for sure.

Good thing I have some other potential work coming up. And true, it wouldn't be all that bad if I lost my job. I have plenty of other things to focus on, and I could probably manage to get by for a while on my savings.

More news as this develops.


Things I found today:

I want a happy knife.

Japanese manhole cover museum.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.