duck-shaped pain

14 March 2002
Not Much Effort

Thankfully, my midterms are over. I did a lot of studying for them, accompanied by a corresponding lack of sleep, and wrote my hand off. I've never used an entire blue book before, but I did this week --twice. My usual compulsion to edit, edit, edit doesn't work when I'm in a panic to get everything down and have it make sense at the same time. Much rambling, lots of things written and then crossed out, all concluded by some frantic generalizations in an attempt to make it everything tie together.

You can probably see that I'm feeling quite optimistic about any potential results.


I started my internship yesterday at the museum. I think it's going to be okay, but it's hard to tell.

It has potential: my assignment is to work on a museum exhibit which is traveling to 22 other museums throughout the West this year. It�s about the relationship between the Colorado River and the overly large amount of people that depend on it. I get to work on helping to plan the local events related to the exhibit when it's the museum's turn to host it.

Yesterday, my task was to type up a list of these events, and make the list attractive enough that it could become part of a poster. So I wrote them up, messed around with the fonts for a bit, and then it was done. Total time: 15 minutes, perhaps.

I showed it to my supervisor, and she was very pleased. Apparently, this is something that's been left undone for weeks -- there was a lot of debate on how to word the list, what it should look like, etc. I didn't know any of this, I just did what was asked of me. My supervisor was very happy, since she didn't think it would ever get done.

Maybe she was being extra complimentary since this was my first day there. But, maybe not. I've heard from other people that working there is sort of frustrating, since it's hard to get anything accomplished decisively. Things have to go through committees, and with an ever-shifting cast of volunteers doing a lot of the work, things can fall through the cracks.

So I'll just have to see if this is going to be a typical day. It's a lot different than my real job, where getting something done quickly and enthusiastically counts more than doing it correctly, a lot of times (to my displeasure).

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.