duck-shaped pain

17 January 2002
Eggshell Blue vs. The Horrors of Digestion

Bizarre sentences of the day:

"It's important for relaxation purposes to have unblocked intestines. Mentally fill your intestines with the happiest, most relaxing color you can think of and feel the blockages go away."

My yoga instructor said this, during a guided imagery session this morning. I'm not really for blockages, but sometimes, you need more advanced firepower than a healing stream of eggshell blue to make them go away.

Yes, even during relaxation, I cannot turn off the critical mind. Is this a failure? I'm not sure. It's only the first day.

I also learned how inflexible and inelegant I am when it comes to stretching and writhing about on the floor, which is one hell of a birthday present from me to me.

But the rest of the day went fine. I wrote a lot of notes in one class, and kept confusing French words for Spanish words in another. [1] Then I went to work and proofed pages and pages of rock sample descriptions. For dinner, shrimp in spicy tomato sauce over Spanish rice, and a big huge margarita. That last part is essential. I was going to go out for Thai food for my birthday dinner, but they don't serve alcohol there (not even Singha), and that's really what needed to go with my meal.

Then I came home and opened my present, which was a new VCR to replace the one that kept seizing up and/or eating tapes.

So it was a pretty good day all around, even if there was an uncomfortable intestine-related moment there at the beginning.


[1] To be truthful, it wasn't actual words that were giving me problems, it was the names of the letters of the alphabet.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.