duck-shaped pain

3 July 2003
Mentally unbearable.

It got to be over 100 degrees today, which is entirely too hot. Yesterday, it was only 99, which felt okay, and I'm sure that the sensation of being out in 100-degree weather versus 99-degree weather is not that much different, but the mental image of being in triple-numeral heat makes it feel all that much hotter. This weekend and next week: more of the same.


I've managed to spend a lot of money on non-things this week. I bought my tickets for my trip in August: a plane ticket to Boston (where I will be from the 6th to the 9th) and a train ticket to New York (where I will be the 10th through the 13th). The least fun thing I spent money on was signing up to take the GRE, which I will have to take later this month, in a sure-to-be-over-(or-under)-air-conditioned room at the Community College of Denver. There is no testing center on this side of the mountains. I mean, I'm always excited to leave town, even if it is to take a test, but spending the good part of a day hovering over a computer screen without the benefit of coffee (no drinks allowed) is not something I want to drive four hours to do. But, at least it will be over, unless I really fuck up and have to take it again.

I just found out that yet another trip over the mountains may be in order, sooner than the GRE trip. My friend S. has been trying to find a job teaching English in Asian for several months. He always assumed when he did that he'd leave in August or September. He just got offered a job in Japan, and they want him to leave two weeks from now, which is surprisingly soon. Being that he may be over there for some time, I think going over there to spend some time hanging out and shopping for CDs together is warranted. Plus, there will be Indian food.


I was at Ross today, not buying shoes, when I saw two young boys fighting over who would get to sit in this exceedingly ornate white armchair that was on sale by the shoes. They were pushing each other off the chair, and smacking each other in the arm, all the while yelling, "I'm the princess!" "No, I'M the PRINCESS!" over and over again, in trebly, wavering voices.


I have a new random entry feature, up there at the top, near the newer and older entry links. You can read all sorts of crap from the past and pretend like there's been four or five entries just for today alone. Chances are that I was doing many of the same things on any randomly selected day that I was doing today, anyway.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.