duck-shaped pain

26 June 2003
Get out, whatever the cost.

I'm spending my Thursday evening the most important way that I can: sitting on my ass drinking wine and shopping for plane tickets. The wine is some cheap Pinot Grigio I picked up the other day: it's not bad, but not especially memorable, either. I keep kicking myself for not remembering the name of this one PG that I had while I was in Denver a few weekends ago. My friend S. and I went out for Indian food (surprise) and I ordered the cheapest glass of wine on their list, because I could not decide which I wanted more at the end of the night, alcohol or excess money. To my surprise, it ended up being excellent, enough so that I bought S. a glass, too, so he wouldn't keep staring at mine after he had a sip. This wine is merely adequate, though.

I'm looking for the cheapest flight that will take me from here to Boston, and then for the cheapest train ride that will take me from there to New York and back again. I am planning a big, elaborate trip, you see, since I don't come out to the east coast very often, and might as well do all that I cam while I'm there. This trip will involve seeing people, going places, and, if I feel like doing such a thing while I am on vacation, research. However, I must, of course, pay the BFE surcharge on any flights out of here, so such things tend to be expensive. Unfortunately, the cheapest flights are on the horrible, terrible America West Airlines, something which I try to avoid at all costs, especially since flying with them includes a mandatory stop in Phoenix, possibly my least favorite place on Earth.

However, any price seems fair right now, considering that it will get me out of here.


The last few weeks have been right fruitful with regards to music purchases. Recently obtained:

I also ordered this (here is an actual review) after gazing at it longingly in a record store in San Francisco. I even carried it around with me and put back many other possible music purchases in preparation to buy it, but ultimately put it down. I found a copy of it cheap cheap on half.com, but I'm partially dubious, so we'll see if it actually comes.

Of course, I buy all of these and now I can't listen to music at work, due to some dubious reasoning (CDs make some other computers on the network slow, or so it seems) on the part of El Jefe. So, blearrgh.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.