duck-shaped pain

20 March 2002
And Then I Woke Up And I Had More Pillows Than Usual

I had a dream last in which I was being stalked by Lyndon Johnson. He would follow me around on a bicycle all the time, and at night, when I was trying to sleep, he would crouch beneath my window and throw pebbles at, just to remind me he was there.

I dealt with it, the best I would. Ignoring him didn't work. Neither did the pepper spray. At one point, figured I was doomed to have a scary presidential admirer for the rest of my life, and decided to get on with my life.

Then the notes started.

Taped to my car window, every morning, they got progressively weirder and weirder.

"HEY HONEY, DON'T PANIC OR NOTHING, I JUST WANT TO GIVE YOU THAT CELEBRITY ROAST PROMISED YOU -- BRING THE CIGARS! LOVE LYNDON."

"MILK TURNS INTO ICE CREAM WHEN YOU GIVE IT SOME LOVIN'! JUST A HINT FROM YOU KNOW WHO"

Eventually, it went too far. He was starting to call me at work, and my inbox was full of scrawled messages. The Employer, who never minds personal phone calls, took me aside for something he termed "a little chat."

"Listen," he said, "please tell your 'friend' to stop calling. It's really messing me up -- the incoherent ranting, followed by the pitiful pleading, all in that incoherent Texas accent�it's just gotta stop!"


And with that, I go on vacation. See you next week.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.