duck-shaped pain

27 November 2002
Hey, free lobster!

The first message in my email inbox is some spam promising me that I have an excellent chance to win forty pounds of free lobster. I received it a few weeks ago, and have kept it not because I am anxious to win that much food, but because the sender is "Lobster." I keep it because it gives me this vision of a little cubefarm of lobsters, sitting at computers, typing on keyboards with their rubber-banded claws, happily (or not) aiding in their own oppression.


I spent seven hours in the college library yesterday -- a remarkable stint for any day, but more impressive considering that I'm on break. It was empty, for the most part, which was part of the appeal. It's easier for me to get work done there when there aren't people yakking away to each other or to some distant person on a cell phone while sitting in the quiet study zones. So I was unusually productive yesterday. I read a 1950s-era biography of the person I'm pretending to be for my paper that's due next week. There are newer biographies, which I'm sure they would have at good libraries that aren't falling apart, but this one was the only one I had access to. [1] It was okay, but it used the phrase "comely young squaw" way too many times to describe various women.


Here is an eminently debatable list of the top 100 albums of the 1980s. Part of it is pleasing (especially number one), part of it is baffling.


[1] Have I mentioned the utter unhelpfulness of the people running interlibrary loan? I haven't? It might be best for all if I just didn't go into that.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.