duck-shaped pain

5 May 2003
cinco de mayo.

Yes. I realize. That it has been, um, a While since I last wrote in this here thing. Explaining my absence would be difficult, because hey! I don't really know why I was gone. One day I felt like writing. The next day I did not. And it went on like that for a while.

I'm still in school. Finals week is this week, and I'm right in the middle of all that I need to do to wrap up the semester. I just got back my biggest paper of the semester, a historical evaluation of organic-food regulations in the United States, and I got an A on it, surprisingly. Surprising, because I knew there were many things wrong with it, and my instructor pointed out many of the same things wrong with it, and yet: an A. Things are generally going well: the sun is shining, I still have a job, I'm going on vacation in about a month, and I am feeling generally unstressed about my grades to come.

Am possibly thinking about giving up meat again. Reworking the vegetarian paper for the conference I went to last month (where it won first place) always makes me think hard about what I'm eating. At the least, I might try to cut back on the cow.

Recent acquisitions: Confield, Autechre. A book of essays by Georges Perec. Five pairs of near-identical linen pants.

The summer beckons. I shall spend it working (alone in a cold room, nothing to do), reading (large backlog), studying (independent-study Spanish class), writing (hopefully), and traveling (as much as humanly possible). I feel oddly optimistic about this summer, which is unexpected.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.