duck-shaped pain

9 May 2003
White flakes among the green grass.

It is snowing outside. When did it become January?

I'm feeling rather agitated this morning. I need to do a lot of things -- get my haircut, go shopping for food -- that all require money, yet I cannot, because I have no money, because I have no paycheck yet. Payday is the first, and what is today? The ninth! A little late, if you ask me. Even worse, since my boss is in Canada, or Wyoming, or both (I'm not really sure) and won't be back for a while, the earliest I can get paid is the 12th. So irritating.

I am finished with the semester, though. Mild happiness is the result. This wasn't that stressful a semester for me, unlike other ones (like fall semester, where I was wound up almost every single day). I only had three classes, really, and while they were all a lot of work, the compulsion I usually have to do everything perfectly wasn't as strong. I still did as well, but I was a little bit easier on myself.

I currently wish that the DJs on the classical-music station would stop talking over the music. They have a bad habit of doing this year-round, and now it's even worse since it's pledge-drive week. I don't mind the extra talking of pledge week, normally, it's just than when it occurs over something I'm listening to that it�s especially annoying.

The Summer of Less Cow is going okay, except that the nachos I co-ordered last night (I had a beer appointment with a friend, and three beers = unnatural nacho cravings) had crumbly, orangey-brown ground beef on them. I avoided that as much as possible. Earlier this week, I made feta-cheese ravioli (well, I unthawed the ravioli rather than making it from scratch) with saut�ed mushrooms and mustard greens, which was good, except that the white wine I added to the vegetables was a little off, and dominated the taste of the vegetables during the first few bites. I heated some of the leftovers up for lunch yesterday, though, and found that the wine taste was nearly undetectable: odd but pleasing.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.