duck-shaped pain

17 October 2003
A distant memory of potato.

My car got vandalized on Wednesday night (or Thursday morning, possibly). It's not the car I usually drive, so it's not like I'm stranded or inconvenienced in any way here. It's mostly just annoying. It happened to the car I used to drive, the little black one, the one I sank a lot of money into until I decided to up and stop driving it in order to stem the loss. Since then, it's been grazing in my drive way, accumulating dust. Things have happened to it before: it got egged a couple of times, and one of the windows was broken about two years ago. But this time, someone was trying to get parts out of it. They smacked the hood so that it would open, and then broke a bunch of things in their attempt to glean what it is that they yearned for. Part of the engine casing is broken, and the hood and bumper are all dented, and it's sort of a mess. I'm so emotionally detached from this car/albatross that I don't really care about they did to it, just that it was a hassle to call the police and get them over here, and now the car won't go at all. It didn't start before, but that was because it just needed a new battery -- easily fixable, if I wasn't so lazy. This is more serious, and I sort of find myself wishing that whoever was involved had just stolen the thing outright. At least it would be out of my driveway then, and I wouldn't have to be cautious about walking over all sorts of tiny engine shards in when I go out and get the mail.


You all have to remind me never to use water in place of broth when I make soup. I've made two in the last few weeks, and they have been intensely disappointing.

The first time, I made a butternut squash dal soup, based on a recipe out of this very disappointing book. The recipe called for 1 1/3 cups of yellow split peas and 6 cups of water -- a little much on the fluid side, I thought. But I made it as planned, and then nothing went right from there. There was too much water for too few split peas, and then the split peas refused to cook all the way through, despite a) being soaked for 14 hours and b) being purchased out of the often-refilled yellow split pea bin at the hippie grocery store. Then, when I was saut�ing the spices to add to the soup, I burnt the mustard seeds, although they didn't look burnt. So I had this concoction with a very distant flavor of lentils and squash -- if you really concentrated hard, and sat and ate the thing in a dark, silent room, you might be able to make out those flavors in the liquid -- topped off with burnt schmutz. I made the still-hard lentils submit to the blender, and then I had thick yellow smoky paste on my hands. I ended up putting the thing in the refrigerator so that it could ruminate for a while, during which I ignored it in favor of better foods. Then I threw it out.

Last night, I made leek and potato soup, out of a recipe someone gave me. 3 cups of leeks, 3 cups of potatoes, 6 cups of water. Simmer for 30 minutes. Blend until smooth. Add butter, salt, and pepper. Eat. It looked pretty when it was all done, but I ended up with a big bowl of potatoey water in the end, with very little taste. Any suggestions?

This is what I get when I try to cook without using hot things.



previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.