duck-shaped pain

20 October 2003
My plea for spice.

I think I'm coming down with something. My throat hurts, as it has for a few days now, and I feel completely wiped out physically. It could be many things, but I hope it ends up being the sort of bug that is taken care of by a decent night's sleep and abstaining from the cow for a couple of days. Unfortunately, it comes at a time when I cannot take a break -- school, which dawdled through nothing of importance for the first half of the semester, has all of a sudden become very important again, and I find myself behind. I stayed up late last night studying (the first decent study session I've had this semester), yet I am still behind. My only hope right now, since I have a movie to help present tonight and five haiku to write in Spanish, is to take short naps and become overly dependent on hot lemonade [1] to soothe me throat.


My wishes have been fulfilled, although only in a sort of half-assed way, as usual. For a long time, I was certain that the only things missing from my life here was the lack of both an Indian restaurant and a Vietnamese restaurant. Earlier this year, the latter arrived. I was happy, because it was close to my house, cheap, and is also a very, very Vietnamese restaurant, which serves amazing lemongrass tofu. Now, as of last week, we have an Indian restaurant.

I went there today for lunch, and it was good to see it there. There was naan, and saag paneer, and all of my other Indian food friends. Yet, it was also disappointing, in a way, because the food was very, very bland. I realize that part of the problem here is that it was the buffet. They may have kind of toned down the spice due to the relative unfamiliarity of many people around here with Indian food, or it could be because they just opened, or something like that. I'll have to return a few more times, or go for dinner and order dishes with custom spicing, before I can really make up my mind. Yet, here I was, hovering over my plate, on the one hand astonished that I was actually able to buy these foods here, a ten-minute drive from my house, yet, on the other hand, I was silently pleading with them to cease the blandness.


[1] In a glass, combine the juice of one lemon, hot water, an adequate amount of honey, a stick of cinnamon, and half of another lemon, sliced thinly. Drink. Enjoy.

previous | next



the past + the future


also, see here.

newest
older
random entry
about me
links
guestbook
email
host
wishlist


www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from hypothetical wren. Make you own badge here.